Shock Therapy

I won’t share with you where I live, but my neighbor has a medium sized Chiwawa. Now, I don’t want to instill the Chiwawa stereotype- but there is no other way. The dog is active and loves to bark… Excessively.

The other week, when Duffy, the Chiwawa first arrived at the town home- he was loud and excited. I thought he was adorable.
However, that “awwww” moment quickly dissipated when Duffy continued to bark through the night (until 1am, exactly). I didn’t understand why Duffy was in the outside deck by himself or why his owners put him there, but it was obvious he wasn’t taken care of.

Then, at 1:30 am I heard a knock at the door. Knock, knock.

“Who’s there?”

“The police”

The first thing that came to mind was.. Shoot. What happened? And as it turned out, many neighbors called the police because they just couldn’t stand it!

Google image but this closely resembles Duffy

About 5 days ago, I heard Duffy once more. This time it was different. The usual bark was more like a cry, but all of a sudden-it stopped.

My mother went to investigate a bit. Turns out that the owners were using the shock collar to “train” Duffy to essentially, shut up.

I am a fan of Duffy quieting down, but not by pain. Not at all.

I do not believe in such treatments. Duffy was such a lively dog prior to the shock collar, but now–he is terrified of everything. Duffy is like a child, with no idea of what he is to do (right or wrong) and it’s the owner’s responsibility to socialize (train) him properly.

If you can teach a child to behave well in public, you surely can teach a dog. Without shock.

Leave a Reply

